The Appeal: The smash-hit bestseller

£9.9
FREE Shipping

The Appeal: The smash-hit bestseller

The Appeal: The smash-hit bestseller

RRP: £99
Price: £9.9
£9.9 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell, this international bestseller and “dazzlingly clever” ( The Sunday Times, London) murder mystery follows a community rallying around a sick child—but when escalating lies lead to a dead body, everyone is a suspect. Original, clever, devious - and never less than utterly compelling - this is a case you're about to become obsessed with. But aside from this initial confusion, the only befuddlement and mystification remaining in the narrative was all part of the novel’s enjoyment.

Structuring your novel this way is ambitious as you have to balance creating realistic missives between your characters, with making such communications include enough detail to tell the story coherently. The case centers around a group of community members involved with a play, and a two year old girl who has been diagnosed with brain cancer. the victim, the motive, the accused, the real killer—all of that is for the reader to uncover alongside these intrepid investigators as they wade through SO much correspondence full of gossip, red herrings, secrets, lies, unreliable witnesses, and the everyday bitchery of people who never expected their private communications would be seen by anyone other than the intended recipient. Didn't know what to expect from it but I picked it up when I woke up this morning and literally did not put it back down until I finished it a few minutes ago.Throughout the Fairway Players' staging of All My Sons and the charity appeal for little Poppy Reswick's life-saving medical treatment, the murderer hid in plain sight.

The last minute evidence added after an initial report back to the senior partner clarified some things.There is little or no breathing space as every page contains relevant information and demands the reader's full attention.

Janice Hallett takes a rather different approach to the crime genre that I think will appeal to many a seasoned crime fiction reader, a chance to turn investigator. That means it's up to us to piece together what's happened from the content and tone of the conversations available. Sayers’ effort is decidedly more character driven, yet in comparing it to Hallett’s book it works with a smaller cast and includes a more streamlined murder. As the truth finally peaks out from the twisty morass of correspondence, it’s an unexpected one and you realise just how far reaching the crimes are. Every character is acutely well-observed, as are the social interactions between them, the constant low-level battle for status within the group and the rapidity with rumours and speculation spread from one to another.And as he prepares for the appeal, he presents two of his star pupils with additional written evidence that came to light after the trial and the guilty verdict. Did I really need to know about Issy having bought a new yoga mat at a sale and she could get one for Sam if she wanted? Thanks to the vast amount of details and the number of characters hiding secrets and lies, I was thoroughly unsuccessful. It’s getting harder and harder to find a crime novel which is not only original, but cleverly plotted, with a very unique twist.

The reader becomes acquainted with what seems normal aspects of small community life that is throwing itself into raising money that then extends to murder, the gossip, the judgementalism, the grudges, resentments, obsessions, the lack of control over and problematic finances in fundraising, the suspicions, the secrets, the relationships and more. Nevertheless, I enjoyed how the narrative did not type cast Poppy’s family as saints or simply figures to be pitied.Janice Hallett studied English at UCL, and spent several years as a magazine editor, winning two awards for journalism. Though perhaps you should make sure said cap is your best houndstooth deerstalker, so you can Sherlock your way through this clever mystery. Issy is a nurse on a geriatric ward and is delighted when her new colleague Sam Greenwood and her husband Kel agree to audition.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop